Best of the Best

Pre-Order my debut novel – THE RUIN SEASON

Posted on May 2, 2016 in Best of the Best, Books, Featured, Horror for the Holidays, Indie Horror, Published Works | 0 comments

The wait is almost over. My debut novel The Ruin Season comes out on June 23rd. But you can PRE-ORDER it NOW from Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing!
Read all about it and pre-order yours now:

The Ruin Season cover art

 

Jake Leonard has more than his share of trouble.
He’s close to forty now and still suffers from bipolar disorder and the painful memories of the psychotic episodes that derailed his life and sent him behind bars as a youth. He lives in the rural south where he spends his days breaking horses and his nights training dogs in solitude. His nineteen-year-old girlfriend, Nikki, is the daughter of the sheriff, and she’s just getting worse with drugs, alcohol and satanic metal, eventually leading into heroin and low-budget porn. When Jake reconnects with his ex-wife, things become even more complicated, and the limits of love and madness get pushed to the breaking point.
The Ruin Season is a haunting tale of a mentally ill man struggling in a violent and heartless world. It is a story of unrequited love, rage, and bloody revenge. It moves forward in the style of gritty southern gothic novels, in the tradition of Larry Brown, Harry Crews, Daniel Woodrell, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Conner. It shows both the tender and horrible sides of insanity as well as the seedy underbelly of the American, backwoods suburbs.

 

About the author:

Kristopher Triana’s short story collection, Growing Dark, is now available from Blue Juice Press. Rue Morgue Magazine said: “Growing Dark is Kristopher Triana’s love letter to everything dark and spooky, whether it be nods to ’80s horror movies or demon-haunted canyons… his knack for imagery makes this short story collection a must read.”

His novel, The Ruin Season, will be published by Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing in the summer of 2016. Also look for his extreme horror novel, Body Art, which will be released later in 2016 by Blood Bound Books.

Most recently his short story “Dog Years” appeared in Selfies from the End of the World by Mad Scientist Journal and his short story “Dead End” was selected by Comet Press as one of 2015’s Best Hardcore Horror Stories. His short fiction appeared in the extreme horror anthology D.O.A. II, alongside such genre heavyweights as Jack Ketchum and Wrath James White. Other anthologies he’s been featured in include Chilling Horror Short Stories, The Ghost Is the Machine, Wretched Moments, How the West Was Wicked, and Zombie Jesus and other True Stories to name a few. On top of anthology work he has been published in magazines and online, including Spinetingler Magazine and Halloween Forevermore, and some of his work has been translated into Russian.

He is an obsessive cult film collector and all around horror fanatic who savors old western novels and binge watches Batman the Animated Series. Triana works as a professional dog trainer and lives in North Carolina with his wife.

 

Read More

My Book is NOW AVAILABLE

Posted on Jun 17, 2015 in 80's Horror, Best of the Best, Books, Featured, Halloween, Indie Horror, Published Works | 0 comments

Haunting tales of horror…

My book, “Growing Dark” by Kristopher Triana, is now available directly from the publisher for only $15 per book. You can use paypal on their website:

CLICK HERE TO ORDER!

It is also available for pre-order on Amazon, with an official release date of July 28th, as well as the Kindle version which is already available for down load.

ORDER HERE!
This is a collection of ten of my darkest short stories, some of which have appeared in magazines and anthologies, while others are new and exclusive to this book.

growing dark cover final
A small town is ruined by black rain, and two police officers find themselves face to face with the creatures lurking in the flooded streets. Paramedics find a remedy for a zombie virus outbreak — but can the survivors come to terms with their cannibalism? Former high-school sweethearts reconnect for the anniversary of a murder. Two deceased movie legends come back as avenging angels, tracking demons through haunted canyons. In the Wild West, an aging gunslinger returns to his favorite brothel, only to encounter a fathomless tar that’s devouring everyone within.
These stories and more fill Growing Dark. A macabre book of bloodcurdling terror, ranging from otherworldly evils to very human nightmares, this powerful collection is sure to keep you sleeping with the lights on.

“Triana has a voice unmatched by other writers in his field. His short stories pack more punch than your average novel. Beware of this man’s words, for they are dangerous and contagious.”
—Max Booth III, author of Toxicity

“Triana’s work really brings the thunder!”
—Jon Mikl Thor, musician, bodybuilder and actor (Rock N’ Roll Nightmare, Zombie Nightmare)

“Kristopher Triana’s short story collection is a great read. His stories will keep you engaged and… I have to say I am not easily frightened but I caught myself white knuckling a few times. Thanks for the ride, Kris! ”
–Liane Curtis, actress (Sixteen Candles, Critters 2, Sons of Anarchy)

“Kristopher Triana is a great writer with a ton of imagination. His short stories are full of twists and turns that keep you wanting more!”
–Ted Prior, actor and director (Deadly Prey, Killer Workout)

“Kristopher Triana is one of the last, true badasses.”
—Tim Morse of Anal Cunt
“Kris Triana is bound to give the big boys of horror a run for their money! Whether it’s ‘quiet’ horror with a slow build or something incredibly extreme, Triana writes characters you care about, fleshing them out so well that you’ll cringe when he suddenly pulls the rug out from under you and viciously flays them alive. Seeing his name attached to any story guarantees you’re in for a great, ghoulish read!”
—Matt Kurtz, author of Monkey’s Box of Horrors

“Triana’s writing will make your soul feel like more maggots are raining out of it than in a Fulci film. It’s hyper reality crossed with the monsters under your bed – and they’re going to fight for your fear.”
–Eric Martin, Guts and Grog

“Growing Dark is a nerve-frying collection of short stories.”
–Tom Bryce, Shit Movie Fest

Read More

My Novel is Being Published!

Posted on May 14, 2015 in Best of the Best, Books, Published Works | 0 comments

My novel “The Ruin Season” has just been accepted by Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing and they will be publishing it next year! This will be my novel debut!

The novel is a country noir story, filled with haunting madness and love, as well as violent heroism and blood-soaked revenge. It is a sorrowful tale in the southern gothic tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Harry Crews, Stewart O’Nan and Daniel Woodrell.

It is probably the work I am most proud of too.

I’ll update everyone as this progresses.

winter-nights-ron-jones

Read More

The Cover Art of “Growing Dark”

Posted on Mar 13, 2015 in Best of the Best, Books, Indie Horror, Published Works | 0 comments

It’s Friday the 13th.

What better time to give you all another sneak peak at my forthcoming book.

Below is the official wrap-around cover for “Growing Dark“, a collection of my best horror and crime stories. I asked artist Michael Crockett to produce “something like the opening to Halloween 4″ (which I think is the best opening sequence in film), and he did an amazing job. The guys at Blue Juice Press found just the right fonts and aligned everything even better than I could have dreamed.

The book is currently going off to the printer for its first 2,000 copies. Once they’re set, an official release date will be announced (sometime in early spring). Stay tuned…

growing dark cover final

Read More

FRECKLES: my flash fiction horror story at Halloween Forevermore

Posted on Feb 28, 2015 in Best of the Best, Books, Featured, Indie Horror, Interviews & Guest Posts, Published Works | 0 comments

My flash fiction horror tale, “Freckles” has just been published by Halloween Forevermore. You can read it totally for FREE on their online magian. Click here to get yourself spooked by your bartender.

Screen Shot 2015-02-28 at 6.25.59 PM

 

Read More

The Greatest Flicks I’ve Ever Seen

Posted on Feb 26, 2015 in 80's Horror, Best of the Best, Featured, Interviews & Guest Posts, Lists & Countdowns | 0 comments

bronson

Recently Tomeric of Guts and Grog did a staggering series of articles that listed his personal top 500 favorite films, which is a testament to the man’s passion for cinema. As a hardcore movie maniac myself, Tomeric asked me to do a guest post about what I consider the ten best films ever made.

If ever you’ve been curious about my opinion on the matter, you can check out the article here, cowboy.

Read More